This spring classic – which always begins in the afternoon on the Friday of Memorial Day Weekend – is a 186 -nautical mile race from Stamford, CT down Long Island Sound, around Block Island, RI and back to Stamford. A shorter, 125nm inside-the-Sound course to Plum Island for smaller/slower boats is offered as well. 

For many racing yachts and crews, the race is an annual rite of passage. For Newport Bermuda Race years (such as this one), it’s a perfect tune-up opportunity for crews to work out the kinks in their watch systems, reacquaint themselves with night racing, shake-down the rigging and learn how best to trim new (or old!) sails.  Generally, most of the fleet finishes late Saturday night or the early hours of Sunday morning.  But, of course, that all depends on the wind, the currents, the weather and the crew.

The Block Island Race was first held in 1946 and it is a qualifier for the Northern Ocean Racing Trophy (IRC), the Double Handed Ocean Racing Trophy (IRC), the New England Lighthouse Series (PHRF), and the Gulf Stream Series (IRC). The Block Island Race is also a qualifier for the Caper, Sagola, and Windigo trophies awarded by the YRA of Long Island Sound and the 'Tuna' Trophy for the best combined IRC scores in the Edlu (40%) and the Block Island Race (60%).

Last year, 61 boats finished the course which started in a light but building breeze. Despite the “nattering nabobs of negativism” regarding forecasted windspeed, the race turned into a fairly quick and quite pleasant event. For more information and registration, please visit

Media Contact:Ron Weiss – Chairman, Communications and Sponsorship Committee - Storm Trysail Club  (203) 253-4166

 2017 bir winners web
Storm Trysail Club Commodore Leonard Sitar (far left) and Storm Trysail Club Fleet Captain, Block Island Race Chair, and Principal Race Officer Ray Redniss (far right) present the Harvey Conover Award for 2017’s Best Overall Performance perpetual trophy and the “keeper” trophy to Jay Turchetta and the proud crew of Amadeus V to go along with their trophies for Best Corrected Time in the IRC fleet and First in IRC Class. 2 trophies.
Photo Courtesy of Rick Bannerot & SYC, copyright 2017